The International Association of Legislation is pleased to announce its new branch: the Israeli Association of Legislation (hereinafter: the Association), established in 2017 .

The Association aspires to promote four main goals:

  1. To establish a venue for the emerging community of scholars and practitioners working in the fields of legislation, legisprudence and legislative studies in Israel, and to facilitate cooperation within this community.
  2. To advance the research, learning, teaching and practice of legislation in Israel.
  3. To advance international relations and cooperation between the Israeli legislation community with the international legislation community.
  4. To organize and hold conferences, workshops and seminars in the field of legislation. As part of this, the Association will aim at organizing a yearly conference, held each year in a different institution.

The Founders of The Israeli Association of Legislation are Dr. Ittai Bar-Siman-Tov (Bar-Ilan University) and Dr. Yaniv Roznai (The Interdisciplinary Center, Herzliya). The President of the Association is the Hon. Justice Dorit Beinisch, former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Israel. The Association’s Secretary is Adv. Shlomi Balaban (Haifa University and Sapir Academic College). The Association’s Young Scholars Forum Director is Adv. Noa Kwartaz-Avraham (Tel-Aviv University and Sapir Academic College).

The Executive Board members of the Association are: Adv. Dr. Gur Bligh, Legal Advisor of the Constitution, Law and Justice Committee (the Knesset); Prof. Moshe Cohen-Eliya (The College of Business and Management); Dr. Ido Eshet (Sapir Academic College); Dr. Chen Friedberg (The Israel Democracy Institute); Prof. Reuven Hazan (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem); Prof. Nir Kedar (Bar-Ilan University); Dr. Doreen Lustig (Tel-Aviv University); Former MK Dr. Anat Maor; Prof. Suzie Navot (College of Management); Prof. Amnon Reichman (Haifa University); Adv. Yehoshua Shofman (Former Deputy Attorney General (Legislation)); Dr. Yael Shomer (Tel-Aviv University); Prof. Rivka Weill (The Interdisciplinary Center, Herzliya); and Dr. Keren Weinshall-Margel (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem).

All office-holders and Board members of the Association perform their work voluntarily and without payment.

Membership in the Association is open for all interested in the field of legislation and is free of charge.

The Copresident of the International Association of Legislation, Prof. Dr. Helen Xanthaki addresses the following message to The Israeli Association of Legislation:

I am delighted to welcome our Israeli colleagues to the family of the International Association for Legislation. Their individual expertise and collective gravitas is a guarantee of exciting innovation in the field of legislation, both through their participation to our projects and also through Israeli projects with our participation. On behalf of our members and our Board, we extend a very warm welcome to the newest branch of the IAL. We wish them great success and we assure them that the mother association is firmly by their side. (Helen Xanthaki)